Reader’s Block!

I believe it’s about time I explain why I have been M.I.A.

Have you ever loved something so much that you just needed a break?

I have read countless books since I started this blog and I loved every minute of it. But in 2015, that all changed.

To be more specific, in 2013 I read approximately 200 books and followed that up in 2014 with another 300 (thank you GoodReads for your Reading Challenges). I prided myself on the number of books I would read in a day, week, month, or year. To some in the book community, these aren’t ridiculous numbers. In the eyes of my friends and family, they thought I was insane.

I loved the time I got to spend in all those different worlds. It felt like home to me. It was my favourite hobby. But something slowly started to dwindle; my love for reading started to subside. It was no longer my favourite hobby.

What was the catalyst to my demise? I don’t know. But I do know that I wish it didn’t happen.

I’ve tried reading. I get excited for book releases; only to be disappointed when I start a book and within a few chapters I need to stop. It has absolutely nothing to do with the story and everything to do with me. And these books that I haven’t been able to complete are piling up beside my bed because I desperately want to read them; my heart just isn’t in it at the moment.

I know that I’m not the only person that has this problem; I compare it to an author’s version of writer’s block. I honestly believe that I have ‘reader’s block’.

The only thing I can hope is that someday – sooner rather than later – I’ll find that love for reading again. I’m just riding it out till the day I can willing pick up a novel of my choice and just enjoy it.

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

