ARC Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

confess1Auburn Reed has lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals in sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

To save their relationship, all Owen needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.

In her magnificent and exceptional style, Colleen Hoover delivers once again a deeply moving story about how true love and family are ties that can never be broken.

___________________

Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Release Date: March 10th, 2015
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

___________________

☆☆☆☆

**ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.**

With any Colleen Hoover release, I feel like I instantly sprint for the book once it becomes available because I know I can rely on her to give me a story that I know I will enjoy. There’s always so much hype around her novels and you never really know what to expect once you embark on each individual journey. Not only do you never know what she has up her sleeve, but you can expect that Colleen is going to take you on a roller coaster ride that no other author could possibly create. She has her own way of writing and story telling that is unique and identifiable to just her. Confess is one of these special Hoover’d works of art – both literally and figuratively.

Confess starts at an emotional time in Auburn Reed’s life when she loses part of her heart in an unfortunate circumstance. Colleen really hits you in the feels in the prologue but soon we’re riding along with Auburn as she starts anew in Dallas a few years later and is hunting for a second job. It’s here where she meets the ever intriguing Owen Mason Gentry (O.M.G) who is in desperate need for Auburn to assist him during one of his monthly art shows. From the second that Owen enters into Auburn’s life, I needed to know more and from this point on I was completely dedicated to reading ever single word without stopping. You watch as their lives start to entwine, crack, crumble and rebuild. Though it’s not the actions of Auburn and Owen but outlying sources that affect every single aspect of their relationship. There’s more twist and turns in this novel than a hedge maze!

‘Some secrets should never turn into confessions. I know that better than anyone.’

Without giving away too much, I love the concept that Colleen used in the direction she took the story. From the reasoning behind Owen’s paintings, to the actual art being displayed in the novel which is painted by the extremely talented Danny O’Connor. I spent copious amounts of time just staring at ever single painting in the book and then ventured to his website where I fell in love even more. Not only does Colleen give you the story that you want, but she provides you with a secondary source of sense that contributes to the emotional journey. Previously she has used music and now it’s visual displays of art. It excites me to think what she could possibly do next.

“I want you to remember how it feels when I look at you.”

I think the only thing I can fault in this novel is the fact that it’s a standalone and it left me wanting more. I personally feel like Auburn and Owen’s story didn’t end in the sense that it gave me closure. I became so invested in their relationship that I’m intrigued about their future; but I trust Colleen and I know that she ended the book exactly as she needed to. This book still cements the fact that Colleen is a literary genius and one day I hope to pick her brain cause she absolutely blows my mind with every single word that she writes.

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t.”

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

