ARC Review: The Professional (Game Maker #1) by Kresley Cole

20630316No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole sets the world of erotica on fire with the scorching debut from her highly anticipated Game Maker series!

MEET THE PROFESSIONAL.

Mafiya enforcer, Aleksandr Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he is ordered to protect the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, tantalizing redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other.

HE MAKES THE RULES.

Grad student Natalie Porter has barely recovered from her encounter with the dark and breathtaking Siberian when whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures.

IN THE GAME OF OBSESSION, TWO PLAYERS ARE BETTER THAN ONE.

To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Aleksandr spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the lovers tempt each other’s boundaries to discover whether their darkest – and most forbidden – fantasies really can come true.

___________________

Title: The Profession (Game Maker #1)
Author: Kresley Cole
Release Date: May 20th, 2014
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & NobleKobo | iBooks

___________________

☆☆☆☆

**ARC provided by Simon & Schuster Australia in exchange for an honest review.**

This book was my first introduction to Kresley Cole’s novels – I went out and bought the first novel in her Immortals After Dark series as soon as I had finished. The description of the novel and the cover definitely drew me in and I started reading the book as soon as I received it. It’s taken me a while to be able to post this review as I was processing the novel in my head. I was slightly confused with the storyline by the end, yet I still enjoyed the book as a whole – we’ll go into this a little later.

Natalie has always wondered who she truly is after being adopted by American couple. She’s had a good life, but still seeks more information about her birth parents. After being so close to obtaining the final pieces of the puzzle that she needs, Natalie’s private investigator soon goes off the grid and she cannot contact him. Little does she know, the investigator’s actions with the knowledge of her existence soon brings her closer to her family than she has ever been before.

Aleksandr has been given the task of watching over Natalie after her father learns about her; never knowing he had a daughter. Unfortunately, her fathers enemies also know about her existence and they are now a threat to Natalie’s life. Aleksandr must now take her back to Russia in order to keep her safe.

There is an instant spark between Natalie and Aleksandr from the very beginning, yet Aleksandr’s dark past plaques the possibility of a relationship. Fortunately, Aleksandr cannot deny himself Natalie’s affection and he soon claims her as his own. Though, where Aleksandr is looking for a lover, Natalie wants a whole lot more. She has waited her entire life for a man like Aleksandr and she won’t give him all of herself without receiving all of Aleksandr in return. When Aleksandr becomes her sole protector – can they form a relationship while on the run?

Aleksandr and Natalie are both very intriguing characters and it was the need to know Aleksandr’s past that kept me enthralled from beginning to end. The only thing I struggled with was the introduction of BDSM to their relationship in the book. I understand that the book is classified as an Erotic Romance, yet one minute they were having your standard vanilla relationship that was HOT to begin with and then the introduction of kinky-fuckery was just too sudden and unexpected for me. It felt like an add-on that wasn’t really necessary, the book would have still been great without it. I don’t know why this bothered me but it’s just my personal opinion – you may enjoy it and I would highly encourage that you do read this book.

Regardless of my one downfall, I really did enjoy The Professional. The characters and the storyline were both massive attention seekers for me which is a huge plus in my book; I wish I didn’t have to fault the story. I’ve also just discovered that Aleksandr’s brothers will each be getting a book in this series and I cannot wait to see what Kresley will do with their stories.

“If you became mine, I wouldn’t let you go.” His words were dipped, as if he was biting back frenzy. “Understand me, if I’m your first lover – I will be your last.” The ringing tone of finality chilled me. “And I would kill any man who thought to touch what was mine.”

___________________

About the Author:

Kresley Cole is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the electrifying Immortals After Dark paranormal series, the young adult Arcana Chronicles series, the erotic Gamemakers series, and five award-winning historical romances.

A master’s grad and former athlete, she has traveled over much of the world and draws from those experiences to create her memorable characters and settings.

Her IAD books have been translated into twenty foreign languages, garnered three RITA awards, and consistently appear on the bestseller lists, in the U.S. and abroad.

Cole lives in Florida with her family and “far too many animals.”

Website | Facebook | Twitter

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

