Blog Tour, ARC Review & Giveaway: Spike (Spark Series #2) by Jennifer Ryder

SpikeI, Aidan Stone, got the girl.

My beautiful Eevie is sweet and sassy, and she owns my heart like no other. I promised her, I’d always protect her, and I meant it, but shit just got serious.

Blackmail. Extortion. And Eevie is the target.

Sometimes the past comes back to haunt us. Sometimes, no matter how hard you try to distance yourself from it, it comes back and bites you on the arse. And in walks Mr Hotshot Detective, Ryan Clark, thinkin’ he can save the day and take my girl.

Well, I’ve got news for him.

___________________

Title: Spike (Spark Series #2)
Author: Jennifer Ryder
Release Date: May 28th, 2014.
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

___________________

☆☆☆☆☆

**ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

I was introduced to the Spark series just a few months ago when I met Jennifer at Indie Author’s Down Under on the Gold Coast. She was absolutely lovely and I very much enjoyed talking to her and getting to know her; I just knew that I had to read her book once my flight touched back down in Melbourne that night. I instantly fell in love with her debut novel, Spark, to the point that my signed copy has pride of place in my Book Corner with all my other favourite books. I have been anticipating the release of Spike ever since and I was blown-away with the incredible story that Jennifer has published.

In the first novel, we watch the relationship between Eevie and Aidan flourish into this all-consuming love that has its fair share of hard-ships along the way. This time around, Jennifer has pulled out the big guns to give us a jam-packed story that is in-your-face awesome and impossible to put down. Spark ended on a cliff-hanger and I expected a completely different continuation than what was revealed in Spike. The direction that Jennifer took this story is beyond anything I could have hoped for and so much more.

This time we don’t just get motocross, Aidan and romance; the story also encompasses elements of a Thriller and we get to meet the illustrious Detective Ryan Clark. From Spark to Spike, we’ve watch these characters develop into the incredible people that they are today. It has been inspiring to witness the journey that Eevie has taken from this fragile and weak girl, and into a strong and independent woman. Can she be strong enough for herself and Aidan when a new threat comes to town? Will she do it alone or ask Aidan for help?

The best bit about reading an Australian novel, is actually being able to picture the places that the events in the book take place. From where I grew up just outside of Campbelltown to the hundreds of times I’ve stopped at the very same McDonalds at Yass on a Sydney-to-Melbourne drive, it just made me feel all-the-more connected and a part of this story. Australian authors in the Indie world are really starting to shine in the industry and I believe that Jennifer is just one of these fine examples.

I honestly think that this book has cemented the fact the Jennifer is doing exactly what she should be doing; not just in her career but in the way that she executes these amazing novels. I was left exhilarated and wanting more by the very last page.  The story, the characters, the details, the emotions – it all leads to this intriguing and addictive book. I cannot wait to see what Jennifer does next with these characters and in her future endeavours. I will be sure to follow her career far into the future.

“I thought I needed a bike to be able to fly, but I’ve never flown higher than when I’m with you.”

___________________

About the Author:

A sexy imagination, a life-long love of books and a sucker for romance, Jennifer Ryder couldn’t stifle her creativity any longer. Writing steamy adult romance has become her new focus. Living on a rural property in New South Wales, Australia, she enjoys the best of city and country. Her loving husband is ever willing to provide inspiration, and her two young cherubs, and sheep that don’t see fences as barriers, keep life more than interesting.

Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

___________________

Giveaway:

3 x Spike eBooks
3 x Swag packs
a Rafflecopter giveaway

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

