Author Interview: Leesa Bow

I was given the opportunity to interview Australian author Leesa Bow for my first author interview. Continue reading to see what Leesa had to say about her debut novel, the reasons why she started writing and the plans she has for the future. You will also find more information on her debut novel, Winning The Player.

___________________

Leesa Bow

Q: What would you say are the major themes in Winning the Player?

I think there are many. The ones that come to mind are:
– The healing power of love.
– Love triumphs over fear.
– Money can’t buy happiness.
– Love must include trust.
– Growing up means taking responsibility of your own life.
– Let go of the past so you can move forward.
– A leopard can change its spots.
– Second chances at life and love.

Q: What inspired you to write Winning the Player?

After reading many American sport romances, I became disappointed that Australia lacked AFL related novels, especially when Aussie men are so hot! So I decided to write an AFL romance, and the basketball idea for the heroine came from my daughter, who at the time was on a basketball scholarship in the USA.

Q: Did you always aspire to be an author?

No. Although I loved to read, I never believed I would become an author. After leaving school I studied nursing, and then stumbled into a sales career. I never wrote anything except essays. When my daughter was diagnosed with cancer, I started jotting down dreams and emotions, as I struggled to read. It all happened from there.

Q: Do you have a favourite part in a book that you love to write?

Conflict and resolution scenes are fun, although developing characters and their personalities make writing interesting and enjoyable. I’m a pantser, so I’m even surprised when a character reveals their true emotion.

Q: How have your personal experiences affected your writing?

I think I have taken many personal/family experiences and intertwined the emotion into my stories. From my husband playing football to my daughter falling ill and having her dreams ripped away from her, all add to my writing style.

In my next book, I reflect on growing up in a small country town and lace it into the storyline.

So yes, my personal experiences inspire my writing but I also manipulate fact into fiction, so the truth is twisted and stretched to hopefully still produce likeable characters, and a heart-warming story.

Q: What can we expect from you in the future?

Many more books!

My next book will hopefully be released around September. It’s Maddy and Luke’s story in a rural romance NA novel.

I have also started writing another football romance NA book. In the opening chapter of Winning the Player, Aubree first sees Darcy Rayne, the ruckman of the Thunder, at the bar. I’m enjoying writing about Darcy.

My very first book was completed from hospital wards while my daughter was sick. It’s NA/fantasy with many scenes in the Amazon rainforest. I hope to revisit this book later in the year, as it’s close to my heart.

Q: If you could work with any author, who would it be?

An international author: Jennifer L. Armentrout, also known as J.Lynn. I love all her books.

An Australian author: Jessica Shirvington. The Violet Eden series were amazing. The first book Embrace had me hooked from the beginning.

Q: What is the most recent book you have read and enjoyed?

Easy by Tammara Webber.

Q: Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Follow your dreams and never, ever give up.

Ignore the haters, as it’s your work so treat it like your baby.

Believe in yourself, remain positive, and read, read, read.

___________________

Winning The PlayerWhen injury destroyed her dream of playing college basketball, Aubree Taylor fled overseas. Now she’s finally home again and ready to move on with her life. Until she runs into Hunter Stone on her first night out, the only guy who’s ever meant anything to her – and the last person she wants to see.

Since she ran out on him two years ago, Hunter hasn’t been able to get Aubree off his mind. The sexy football star has had girls all over him for years, but Aubree is the only one to have ever seen behind the cocky persona he puts on for the crowd.

Despite her attempts to keep her distance, Aubree is unable to resist the strong attraction between them and it isn’t long before they fall into a passionate relationship. She has never been afraid of a challenge, but Hunter’s arrogance and inablity to trust are testing her to her limits. Aubree must decide whether to follow her heart and lower her guard…or risk losing the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

___________________

Title: Winning The Player
Author: Leesa Bow
Release Date: April 14th, 2014
My Review
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon US | Amazon AU | Kobo | iBooks

___________________

About the Author:

Leesa Bow grew up in Broken Hill. Sport played a major role in her life growing up in a small country town, and Leesa had a passion for basketball.   Although she loved to read books with happy endings, she never believed she would end up a novelist.

Leesa started her professional life nursing at the local hospital before moving to Adelaide in her early twenties. She married a football player, and inevitably her four daughters were also sporty. Leesa began writing seriously when her second daughter became sick with cancer. Initially writing was therapeutic, but when her daughter got the all clear, she decided to continue writing seriously. Stories about sport, romance, and characters aged eighteen plus seemed logical since her daughters were of a similar age, and often surrounded by athletes.

Leesa now works in merchandising and in her spare time writes New Adult romance. On weekends she enjoys watching basketball and football, having beach days with the family, catching up with girlfriends, and daydreaming about strong heroines.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

