Blog Tour & ARC Review: Twisted (Tangled #2) by Emma Chase

TwistedFalling in love is easy. Staying in love is hard. In this heart-pounding follow-up to Tangled by New York Times bestseller Emma Chase, Kate reveals that there is trouble in paradise, when unexpected circumstances force her and Drew to “renegotiate” their relationship.

There are two kinds of people in the world. The ones who look first, and the ones who leap. I’ve always been more of a looker. Cautious. A planner. That changed after I met Drew Evans. He was so persistent. So sure of himself—and of me.

But not all love stories end happily ever after. Did you think Drew and I were going to ride off into the sunset? Join the club. Now I have to make a choice; the most important of my life. Drew already made his—in fact, he tried to decide for the both of us. But you know that’s just not my style. So I came back to Greenville, Ohio, alone. Well, sort of alone…

What I’ve come to realize is that old habits die hard, and sometimes you have to go back to where you began before you can move ahead.

___________________

Title: Twisted (Tangled #2)
Author: Emma Chase
Release Date: March 25th, 2014
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & NobleiBooks

___________________

☆☆☆☆

**ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

After reading Tangled, I’m sure I’m not the only one who was excited for the series to continue with Twisted. Drew Evans is back and he is definitely returning with a BANG!

I’m not sure what I expected with Twisted; though I know it turned out differently than what was playing in my head. Where Tangled was funny, dramatic and heartfelt, Twisted fell into a more deeper category. It stills hold all the qualities of its predecessor, the issues are a bit more complex that those that were displayed in Tangled.

‘Welcome to Oz, Toto. It’s a fucked-up place to be.’

This story is set two years after the ending in Tangled and is told mostly from Kate’s POV. Without giving away spoilers, the story can only be explained as Drew screwing up – yet again – and Kate decides that she needs to get away from everything in order to clear her head. The main factor to all their problems is their lack of communication when it comes to serious issues. There were points in the book where I just wanted to scream at Kate and Drew to wise up and talk to each other because it was beyond infuriating. It’s the ability for a book to make me feel any type of emotion whether it be happiness, sadness or anger, that helps me to enjoy it all the more.

‘Have you ever taken your whole life and put it in someone else’s hands and asked then to take care of it for you? To bring it back to you in one piece? ‘Cause that’s what I’m doing here.’

Emma Chase went out on a limb with this book and I think it really paid off. This book is not written with the same style as Tangled, though reading from Kate’s POV was just as entertaining as reading in Drew’s POV for the first book. It just goes to show that Emma Chase has the ability to write with different techniques and can tell the same story – this isn’t seen very often anymore.

Though this book was still great and I enjoy it immensely – it just didn’t hit the mark for me in comparison to my experience with Tangled. I’m still a huge fan of the series and I cannot wait to see what happens next for Kate, Drew and their friends.

___________________

About the Author:

Emma Chase

By day, Emma Chase is a devoted wife and mother of two who resides in a small, rural town in New Jersey. By night she is a keyboard crusader, toiling away the hours to bring her colorful characters and their endless antics to life. She has a long standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.

Emma is an avid reader. Before her children were born she was known to consume whole books in a single day. Writing has also always been a passion and with the 2013 release of her debut romantic comedy, Tangled, the ability to now call herself an author is nothing less than a dream come true.

Twitter | Facebook | Website | Goodreads

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

