Review: A Terrible Love (A Terrible Love #1) by Marata Eros

A Terrible LoveIn this electrifying New York Times eBook and USA Today bestseller from rising star of dark and sizzling new adult novels Marata Eros, a former ballerina struggles to hide her painful past – only to discover she’s not the only one with secrets. 

“We’re terrible together. . . .”

Jess Mackey’s whole life is a meticulously fabricated lie. She escaped the violent tragedy of her past and is forging ahead with a clean slate far removed from her powerful political family and its dark secrets. But Jess can’t ignore her passions – not her love for ballet, nor her tumultuous desire for the unexpected lover who threatens to jeopardize her carefully constructed identity.

Love does no harm. . . . 

Devin Castile is all sex-and-hotness wrapped up in a dangerous package. Jess worked hard to leave danger behind. But she wants Cas as much as the girl she once was longs to be free. Convinced they can keep their messy emotions at bay, Jess and Cas indulge their wildest fantasies. But soon Jess’s lies begin to crumble, and the lovers discover that freedom comes with a deadly price.

___________________

Title: A Terrible Love (A Terrible Love #1)
Author: Marata Eros
Release Date: September 24th, 2013
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

___________________

5 star review!

**Review Copy provided by Simon & Schuster Australia in exchange for an honest review.**

I can’t even begin to describe how much I loved this book. From the moment I read the very first sentence, I was hooked. Nothing was stopping me from getting my fill of Devin Castille!

The first thing that attracted me to this book was definitely the cover. I am one of those people that judges a book by its cover and I thought that the design epitomised the emotions and mystery that is present within Jess and Cas’ relationship. I can tell you that the image doesn’t even do it justice. Being able to hold this book in my hands just makes me all tingly inside because the cover is just so appealing. It is the most beautiful cover art I have ever seen!

As for the actual book, I will never forget the day that I read it. This book consumed me – mind, body and soul. Marata’s writing isn’t just beautiful, it’s addictive. She not only enhanced the connection between the characters but her language technique ensures that the story become more and more intriguing.

I don’t realize it at the time but there is always a cost with freedom.

Jess is trying to run away from a horrific past. She has done everything short of changing her physical features in order to escape the one person that she fears the most – her step brother, Thad. Though she is still holding onto the one piece of herself that she still has left, ballet. After a whole lot of persuasion from her best friend, Jess auditions for the Seattle Pacific Ballet. This is only the start of a chain of events that introduce new experiences, people and threats into Jess’ life.

I forget that I’m not perfect.
In his arms, I am.

Devin Castille is the mysterious bad boy that you can’t help falling in love with. It’s definitely intriguing that he just instantly pops up in Jess’ life without any warning. And Cas is hiding one very important detail about himself from Jess. I was absolutely dumbfounded when Cas’ secret is revealed because I was not expecting the twists and turns that this book entails.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a fast-paced book that is jam-packed with romance, mystery and some seriously hot male characters. I am excited to follow Marata’s career and I can’t wait to read her future projects!

– Emily-Jane.

One thought on “Review: A Terrible Love (A Terrible Love #1) by Marata Eros

Leave a Reply

