Review: Raw by Belle Aurora

Raw

***Author Note: This is not a love story.
This is a story of love gone wrong.***

Growing up the way I did, you’d think I’d be more screwed up than what I actually am.
Soon as I turned sixteen, I left that bump in the road I called home and took my chances on the street.
Best decision I ever made.
Now, at the age of twenty six, I’m educated, employed and damn good at my job.
My friends have become my family. Like me, they know what it’s like to grow up unloved.
But the saying is true.
The world makes way for those who know where they are going.
That’s me.
I know where I’m going and I’ll get there eventually.
On my own terms and at my own pace.
But then there’s him.
He makes me feel. I feel his eyes on me. I see him hiding in plain sight. He watches me.
It’s unconventional.
But it’s real.

I’m sure you’re wondering how a person falls in love with their stalker.
So am I.

This isn’t a story.

This is my life.

___________________

Title: Raw
Author: Belle Aurora
Release Date: January 2, 2014
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon Barnes & Noble

___________________

☆☆☆☆☆

If it was possible to give this book a galaxy worth of stars then I would. I already consider Raw to be the best book of 2014 and we’re only 8 days in. I don’t think anything will ever compare to this book in my eyes. It felt real, it was emotional and it murdered my heart!

Some things in life are so sad that there are no words to describe the amount of sadness, grief, and sorrow a person is feeling. I assume this is why God allowed humans the simple act of crying. When a person cries, they feel the sadness slowly ease out of them. They feel as though they are justifiably respecting a person that has died through showing their grief. They allow a moment of sorrow to overcome them and cry out a small portion of their unseen pain.

Belle Aurora wasn’t kidding when she said, “This is not a love story. This is a story of love gone wrong.” Days later and I’m still in need of an evaluation on my sanity because Raw owned the hell out of my heart. I was broken, destroyed and lying in the foetal position by the time I got to the very end of the story. Alexa and Twitch will always have a place in my heart!

“Monsters don’t always lurk in the shadows.”

Twitch is stalking Alexa and she knows it. Man, I just thought the whole concept of the story was brilliant. Never have I read a book quite like this and I really, really, really want more. This book is currently a standalone and I just feel like the story isn’t finished yet. Please Belle, WE NEED MORE! I will happily live in the world you have created for Alexa and Twitch for the rest of my life if you continue to produce amazing novels like this. You now have a fan for life in me!

“Not everyone can be a fairy-tale hero.” He pauses a moment, then adds, “The world needs villains too.”

The ending of this book is the main reason why I currently need to see a shrink because I’m pretty sure I have PTSD from the events that take place. I guarantee that you will need a good bunch of tissues just to get through the final pages. I felt like I lost apart of myself in those last moments and I need some serious counselling right now. I don’t think I’ll ever be the same again.

“You’re what fills the hole in my heart.”

I highly recommend this book to everyone. I can’t even single out a specific group because I think everyone needs to experience this story. It was amazing, it killed me and it will be one of my all-time favourites until the day I take my last breath!

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

