Blog Tour, ARC Review & Giveaway: Shattered Ties (Ties #1) by K.A. Robinson

Shattered Ties

With a former supermodel mother and a rock-and-roll legend father, Emma Preston has the best of everything. Nothing is as perfect as it seems though. After her parents divorce, she’s forced to live with her mother in a private Santa Monica community. Ignoring their parental roles, her mother becomes more focused on climbing the social ladder while her father is off on tour. 

Growing up in a trailer park with his mother, Jesse is used to people looking down on him. When his mother begs him to submit an application for a scholarship to one of Santa Monica’s top private schools, he never expects to actually get it. When he does, he is forced to attend school with a bunch of rich kids. He ignores their stares as they judge him for having tattoos and a less than impressive car. As long as he has his surfboard and the guys at the tattoo shop, he knows he can make it through. 

When Jesse shows up on the first day of school, Emma can’t help but be intrigued. Her mother would never approve of Emma talking to someone so poor, but she doesn’t care because something about Jesse draws her to him. 

Jesse tries to hate Emma, but he discovers that he can’t resist her. Forced to hide their relationship from Emma’s mother and everyone else around them, things start to fall apart. When Jesse’s friend, Ally, decides to interfere, things go from bad to worse. 

Can they survive their first love? Or will they be left with nothing more than shattered ties?

Book 1 of a 2 book series. 

___________________

Title: Shattered Ties (Ties #1)
Author: K.A. Robinson
Release Date: November 12, 2013
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Amazon UK | Nook | Smashwords | Kobo

___________________

5 star review!

**ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

I have never read a K.A. Robinson book that I didn’t love. Shattered Tie has been put in the category of ‘All Time Favourite’!

After reading the prologue, all I thought was: I DON’T WANT TO HATE EMMA! But you can all release that breath you were holding because the early visions of Emma that are shown in the prologue are not the same Emma that we see when the story is told from the present day. I was definitely worried that she would be judgmental like her mother but she blew me away because she grew up to be so caring.

I was in awe of Jesse throughout the book. Though he is worried about the way that Emma views him, he doesn’t show anyone weakness or let them judge him on the place that he lives. It’s definitely inspiring to see someone who is comfortable in their own skin. He is one of my favourite book boyfriends of 2013!

Emma and Jesse’s relationship is filled with many ups and downs; I was just downright shocked by the end and there may have been just a few tears. I’m also certain that Kelly is trying to kill me with that damn cliffhanger. It’s just not fair to make me wait for the second and final book after that. It just hurts to be an Emma & Jesse fan right now!

___________________

Excerpt:

“Who is that?” I asked as we watched a guy climb out of the Jeep and walk toward us.

“I have no idea, but I wouldn’t mind finding out,” Lucy replied as she stared at the new arrival with lust-filled eyes.

I squinted, trying to see him as he walked toward us. He looked vaguely familiar, but I couldn’t place him. Lucy squeezed my arm as he looked up and noticed us staring. I thought my arm was actually going to fall off when he approached us and stopped directly in front of me.

“Hi. I was wondering if you could tell me where the office is,” he said politely.

Now that I could see him up close, I understood Lucy’s excitement. Wow. Just wow. I had been ogling Todd not two seconds before, but I had to admit that this guy was far better than Todd. His hair was a shaggy mess of blond curls, and his eyes were the brightest emerald green that I had ever seen. His upper lip was a bit thin, but his bottom was full and just begging to be kissed. He was wearing a fitted polo shirt, and it stretched to its limit every time he moved due to the muscles that it was concealing. Several tattoos covered his arms, and they were a total contradiction to how he was dressed. This boy looked like a fallen angel and a surfer boy all rolled into one, and I wanted to wrap myself around him.

___________________

About the Author:

K.A. Robinson Author PicK.A. Robinson is from a small town in West Virginia. She still lives there today with her crazy two year old son and husband of four years.

When she isn’t writing, she loves to read and constantly has her nose buried in her Kindle, much to her husband’s annoyance. Her favorites are usually something about dystopian societies or hot rock stars with tattoos.

She can’t cook to save her life, and is a firm believer in frozen pizza. Her addictions include Diet Pepsi, Starbucks, and Cocoa Pebbles, as well as an addiction to all things tattooed.

FacebookTwitter | Goodreads

___________________

Giveaway:

K.A. Robinson is hosting a massive giveaway on her site.
Click the link to check out what is up for grabs and enter to win.

Good luck!

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

