ARC Review: Keep You From Harm (Remedy #1) by Debra Doxer

Keep You From Harm

Secrets…

They weigh you down. I’ve kept a secret all my life. It’s my mother’s secret, too. I inherited it from her along with a unique ability that only we possess. She’s gone now, another victim of addiction. If her death isn’t enough to bring me to my knees, her betrayal flays me to the bone. Because the secret my mother and I have been keeping is just one of many she’d kept. She never told me I have an older brother. And now he’s here, eager to be my guardian.

There is no one else. So I move across the country to live with this stranger, my brother. But experience has taught me that most situations are temporary and forming attachments only leads to hurt in the end. That’s why I’m determined to keep to myself in this new place, struggling to seem aloof while I’m quietly breaking apart.

Then I meet Lucas…

His magnetism is hard to resist, and most girls at school aren’t resisting. I don’t fall so easily though, especially not for guys who use their good looks as a weapon. From the start, our interactions are tense and volatile. I know it’s because I’m denying the unwelcome desire that grips me when he’s near. I think he feels it, too. He looks at me with an intensity that threatens to unhinge my resolve. Soon he’s trying to break through the walls that past hurts have built.

But I’m not what I appear to be, and it wouldn’t be fair to get involved with him. At least that’s what I tell myself. Until a terrible act of violence reveals that Lucas has a secret, too. It’s a secret that links us together and ties us to an evil history I never could have imagined.

___________________

Title: Keep You From Harm (Remedy #1)
Author: Debra Doxer
Release Date: September 27, 2013
Age Group: Mature YA/New Adult/Paranormal Romance
Add to Goodreads!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

___________________

5 star review!

**ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

I not only fell in love with this story, but I’m pretty sure I want to marry Debra right now. I’m already calling it.. it’s one of my favourite books I’ve read in 2013!!!!

Emotions are dangerous. So are expectations.

I can’t even explain the connection I felt with this book but it was just right there in the beginning. I started reading this not knowing that it was a Paranormal Romance, but I was just completely shocked at the direction that Debra took the story. IT WAS AWESOME!

“You’re my ray of sunshine.”

Raielle has this ability to heal people that is just astounding. It is supposedly a generic power that is passed down to one member of each generation of her mothers family. There is a point in the novel when Raielle does something extremely selfless with the ability and I was just in complete awe of her. I was a tad teary at this point and just needed someone to hold me but of course my family thought I was crazy cause I was crying over a book; but then they’re used to my emotional outbursts!

Once people know what you can do, it changes things.

When I met Lucas.. I think I fell in love. He is a bit arrogant but it just makes him that much more attractive. Then you discover the life that Lucas has been living; my heart shattered all over the floor. I just wanted to crawl into a ball and cry cause it was heart breaking. This is another point when Raielle does something to help someone else; even though this is out of her love for Lucas, it not only made him safer but his entire family. I may have screamed in delight.

I truly feels like the dream it always was, a dream that’s more out of reach than ever.

This isn’t just a romance novel with a bit of paranormal activity added in; there’s suspense and mystery which has become a favourite of mine. I had a massive book hangover after reading Keep You From Harm and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book. Cliff-hangers can go and jump off a cliff – not fair!

___________________

About the Author:

Debra Doxer

Debra Doxer has always loved to write. She also loves to read, often finishing several books a week. Debra works as a writer in the network and software security field. For fun, she writes fiction novels.

Debra lives with her family outside of Boston and is currently working on her next book.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

