ARC Review: The Road To You by Marilyn Brant

The Road To You

“Until I found Gideon’s journal in the tool shed—locked in the cedar box where I’d once hidden my old diary—I’d believed my brother to be dead. But the contents of his journal changed all that.”

The Road to Discovery..

Two years ago, Aurora Gray’s world turned upside down when her big brother Gideon and his best friend Jeremy disappeared. Now, during the summer of her 18th birthday, she unexpectedly finds her brother’s journal and sees that it’s been written in again. Recently. By him.

The Road to Danger..

There are secret messages coded within the journal’s pages. Aurora, who’s unusually perceptive, intelligent and a natural puzzle solver, is hell bent on following where they lead, no matter what the cost. She confides in the only person she feels can help her interpret the clues: Donovan McKracken, Jeremy’s older brother and a guy she’s always been drawn to—even against her better judgment.

The Road to You..

Reluctantly, Donovan agrees to go with her and, together, they set out on a road trip of discovery and danger, hoping to find their lost brothers and the answers to questions they’ve never dared to ask aloud.

“In that expectant space between silence and melody, our trip began…”

___________________

Title: The Road To You
Author: Marilyn Brant
Release Date: October 3, 2013
Age Group/Genre: Upper YA/New Adult coming-of-age romantic mystery
Add to Goodreads!
Amazon | Barnes and Noble

___________________

4 star review!

**ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

This is not one of my usual reads but it is definitely something I’m interested in. Have you ever watched National Treasure? I’ve always wanted to be able to solve mysteries and this book took me on a journey that I know I would never experience in my own lifetime.

Aurora is left reeling after finding her missing brothers diary. With recent entries after being told he has been dead for two years, she enlist the help of Donovan to track him down. Though Donovan also has a stake in this search as his own brother went missing right along with Gideon. They take off on a journey that leads them to multiple places as they discover that their brothers may have gotten themselves tied up with the wrong people before they disappeared. They not only find the answers they are looking for but they also find themselves along the way.

This novel is based in the late 1970’s, and though I don’t usually read books that are based in the past, I really enjoyed getting a glimpse of life back then when pay phones were used instead of a mobile phone and the only search engines they had were the use of a library and not a simple Google search.

With this book came twists and turns and a whole lot of code cracking that I found to be fun and interesting. I could only hope just for a little more romance in the novel but nevertheless I really did love it! :)

___________________

About the Author:

Marilyn BrantMarilyn Brant is a national bestselling and award-winning author of contemporary fiction. For Kensington Books, she wrote ACCORDING TO JANE, a new adult contemporary that won RWA’s Golden Heart Award, as well as the Aspen Gold and Booksellers’ Best; FRIDAY MORNINGS AT NINE, a Doubleday Book Club and Book-of-the-Month Club pick in women’s fiction; and A SUMMER IN EUROPE, a romantic women’s fiction story featured by the Literary Guild and BOMC2, as well as by the Rhapsody Book Club, where it was Top 20 Bestseller in “Fiction & Literature.”

She’s also a #1 Kindle Bestseller and has written a series of fun and flirty contemporary romantic comedies, including ON ANY GIVEN SUNDAE and PRIDE, PREJUDICE AND THE PERFECT MATCH, both of which were Amazon and B&N Top 100 bestselling novels. She was recently named the 2013 Illinois Author of the Year by the Illinois Association of Teachers of English and lives in the northern Chicago suburbs with her family. She’s a big fan of travel, music and chocolate of all varieties, but she’s not so fond of celery or snakes. Or doing laundry.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

___________________

AToMRTours

– Emily-Jane.

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Road To You by Marilyn Brant

  1. Emily-Jane,
    Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Road to You!
    I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the mystery/code-cracking and the adventure of the story ;).
    And I just realized you’re from Australia! I wasn’t able to get as far south as Melbourne, but one of the biggest journeys I ever took was when I was a high-school exchange student in Brisbane. LOVED getting to see some of your gorgeous country!!
    One of these days, I’d love to set a novel there… :)

    • Hi Marilyn,
      Definitely loved the book! <3
      I'm glad you loved Australia and would love to read a book that is set here and written by you.
      If you ever have any questions about Australia, especially for Sydney and Melbourne, I'd love to help you out with your fact checking.
      I'm actually headed over to the US next year for exchange as a Uni student and I hope to have the same experiences that you have gained from your visit to Brisbane! :)

  2. Oh, how awesome that you’re going on an exchange!! I’ve got my fingers crossed that you’ll have a wonderful experience in the States…do you know already where you’ll be? Truly, it was life-changing for me to get to study in Australia (and thank you for your offer of information about those cities! I’ll remember… ;) and I made a few friends that I’m still in touch with, even all of these years later. I was 16 when I went to Brisbane as a student and, then, I saved up for 4 years so I could go back to visit when I was 20. That second trip allowed me to see a bit more of the country (the Great Barrier Reef is still one of my favorite spots on Earth!), but it also was a chance to get together again with people I’d met…including an Aussie guy I was a little in love with at the time :-). So, happy memories for me!! And I wish you all the joy of this exchange experience and much more!

    • I’m going to be staying in Florida as my exchange is connected with working at Disney World. I’m definitely looking forward to going back. I travelled with my family around the US a few years ago. This time around, I want to visit all the places I haven’t been before I go home. My major priority is Seattle as I’d love to live and work there after I’ve graduated here in Australia. My career choice isn’t as easy to get a job in Australia as it is in the States.

Leave a Reply

