Review: Driven (The Driven Trilogy #1) by K. Bromberg

Driven

Rylee Thomas is used to being in control. But she’s about to meet the one man that just might make her enjoy losing it…

I am the exception to the rule.

In a world full of willing women, I’m a challenge to the roguish and achingly handsome Colton Donavan. A man used to getting exactly what he wants in all aspects of life. He’s the reckless bad boy constantly skating that razor thin edge toward out of control, on and off of the track.

Colton crashes into my life like a tornado: sapping my control, testing my vulnerabilities beyond their limits, and unintentionally penetrating the protective wall around my healing heart. Tearing apart the world I rebuilt so carefully with structure, predictability, and discipline.

I can’t give him what he wants and he can’t give me what I need. But after a glimpse beneath his refined exterior into the dark secrets of his damaged soul, can I bring myself to walk away?

Our sexual chemistry is undeniable. Our individual need for complete control is irrefutable. But when our worlds collide, is the chemistry enough to bring us together or will our untold secrets and battle of wills force us apart?

___________________

5 star review!

In Australia, it isn’t very common that you’ll meet someone who is a NASCAR fan; if this is the case then you obviously haven’t met me yet. It would only make sense that I feed my love for the NASCAR series by reading novels that feature the amazing sport. Driven is one of these novels!

The story starts at a date auction to raise funds for a boys home. Rylee is the head of the campaign that allows young children in the foster care system to have a stable home and normal childhood. This event is where she meets Colton Donovan, the highly successful and charming NASCAR racer. He instantly wants her and bets that he’ll have a date with her by the end of the event.. he isn’t wrong about that!

“My life is not some Hollywood romance movie where boring girl meets famous boy and they fall madly in love together. I’m not naïve enough to believe that this is going to happen to me.”

Now everyone loves a good book with email banter between the two lead characters. Colton tries diligently for Rylee to give him the time of day. She knows exactly what type of person he is and refuses to allow him to break down the giant walls that she has built around herself.

“His perfection next to my ordinary.”

I absolutely fell in love with all of the little kids from The House that Rylee works so hard to provide for. Zander wormed himself into my heart and I felt so protective towards him. You need to meet him to understand how much of an impact he has on your emotions.

Rylee has been through more trauma in her life than any person deserves to go through and it helps to understand why she is constantly rejecting Colton’s advances. Though Colton also has his own secrets he hasn’t shared from a childhood that was less perfect than what Rylee expects.

“An angel fighting through the darkness or a devil breaking into the light?”

I laughed, cried and got extremely frustrated while reading this book. Any book that can bring out all of my emotions is added to my list of favourite books.

Available for purchase on Amazon.
Books in the series:

~ Driven (The Driven Trilogy #1) – out now.
~ Fueled (The Driven Trilogy #2) – out now.
~ Crashed (The Driven Trilogy #3) – release date TBA.

– Emily-Jane.

2 thoughts on “Review: Driven (The Driven Trilogy #1) by K. Bromberg

Leave a Reply

