Review: The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) by Jessica Sorensen

The Redemption of Callie and Kayden

The dark secret Kayden has kept hidden for years is out. Worse, he’s facing charges for battery. The only way he stands a chance against the charges is if Callie speaks up, something he’ll never ask her to do.

Callie knows Kayden is going back to his dark place and desperately wants to save him. But saving him means admitting her secrets aloud. Callie and Kayden are stronger than they think, especially when they’re together. Together they move forward, face their demons, and finally start to heal from their traumatic pasts.

___________________

4.5 star review!

This book started off a week after the ending of The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden and I was so devastated that Callie and Kayden were separated for majority of the time in the book, both physically and emotionally. It broke my heart and I was continually frustrated because I was hoping that they would be together properly in the sequel.. but when is anything ever perfect?

“In the end, I know I’m going to have to answer those questions and make a decision that’s frightened me for the last six years of my life, but maybe it’s time to face it.
Maybe it’s time to quit being so scared.”

After being stabbed, the blame is put on Kayden because of his past with self-harm. His mother commits him into a rehabilitation facility where he is monitored and taught an alternative to harming himself. This means that his dad doesn’t get arrested for the attack and past domestic violence.

“Then I’m alone, unable to move or breathe. All I can think is that this is the end of it. The end of my happiness.”

It absolutely killed me every time Kayden would ignore Callie and walk away. It hurt even more when he’d give her mixed signals by saying they could only be friends and then he would do something that indicated that they were definitely more than friends.

“I want her to belong with someone who will make her happy, even if it means I have to hurt for the rest of my life.”

The truth is a big factor in this book and Callie finally comes clean to her parents about what happened to her on her twelfth birthday. There are a lot of tears, apologies and revelations that she wasn’t the only victim at the hands of such a venomous person. I’m both scared and excited to see what happens next in The Destiny of Violet and Luke (The Coincidence #3).

“I can’t do this without you.”

Available for purchase on iTunesAmazon and is available for pre-order on Book Depository.
Books in the series:
~ The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #1) – out now.
~ The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) – out now.
~ The Destiny of Violet and Luke (The Coincidence #3) – released January 7th 2014.
~ The Resolution of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #3.5) – release date TBA.

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

