Review: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #1) by Jessica Sorensen

the-coincidence-of-callie-and-kayden

There are those who don’t get luck handed to them on a shiny platter, who end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, who don’t get saved.

Luck was not on Callie’s side the day of her twelfth birthday when everything was stolen from her. After it’s all over, she locks up her feelings and vows never to tell anyone what happened. Six years later her painful past consumes her life and most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence was the only way to survive life. As long as he did what he was told, everything was okay. One night, after making a terrible mistake, it seems like his life might be over. Luck was on his side, though, when Callie coincidentally is in the right place at the right time and saves him.

Now he can’t stop thinking about the girl he saw at school, but never really knew. When he ends up at the same college as Callie, he does everything he can to try to get to know her. But Callie is reserved and closed off. The more he tries to be part of her life, the more he realizes Callie might need to be saved.

___________________

5 star review!

Oh gosh, this book.. it ripped my heart out. I’m such an emotional person and I feel everything but I couldn’t hold back when I read this. Even the message before you even read the first page, ‘For everyone who wasn’t saved‘. That just made my heart shatter into a million pieces instantly.

“I can handle scars, especially ones that are on the outside.”

This book dealt with so many issues that I feel like I could be a therapist and pass on the things I learnt in this book to those that really need it. I also feel like I know how to deal if I was ever to be put into these situations myself.

“Seize the day, take hold of it, and make it whatever you want.”

Callie and Kayden have known each other for years, though Callie has been invisible to everyone since she was 12 and Kayden hides the brutality he faces at home. After Callie saves Kayden’s life, she runs off to college to escape the demons that haunt her in her hometown. After attending summer semester, she finds out that Kayden also attends the same college and wants to thank her for being so selfless that night. From then on, a series of events lead to Callie opening her heart and trusting Kayden, as she doesn’t trust anyone. 

“I feel everything and I need to get it out of me.”

Can I just say that I wanted to throw my iPad at a wall after that cliff-hanger. I originally read this months ago and having to wait till now to read The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) which has just been released – I’ve already finished reading it cause I couldn’t wait – it had to be the worst wait ever!

“I can do pain. That’s the easy part of life. It’s everything else, happiness, laughter, love, that’s fucking complicated.”

Available for purchase on iTunes, Amazon and Book Depository.
Books in the series:
~ The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #1) – out now.
~ The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) – out now.
~ The Destiny of Violet and Luke (The Coincidence #3) – released January 7th 2014.
~ The Resolution of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #3.5) – release date TBA.

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

