Review: Happy Hour (Racing on the Edge #1) by Shey Stahl

15724228

Between revving engines, smoking tires, and high speeds, two friends form a vital bond in the shadows of the blaring spotlight. Sway Reins, a track owner’s only daughter, and Jameson Riley, a gritty NASCAR rookie driver, have been best friends since they were kids. Over the years, Sway becomes his safety shield during his rapid rise to the elite levels of auto racing. A night of celebrating a victory leaves Sway believing that she can convince Jameson to fall in love with her. She becomes determined to be more than just a pit lizard trolling the pits. Little does she know that this steadfast racer has his own idea of revelry. Soon their compression ratios are timed exactly right and all the reciprocating motions have led them to happy hour. As their passion revs, the inner workings of an internal combustion engine have never been so erotic. Just a taste turns into a thirst neither of them saw coming. Can she convince this rookie he can have love and his dream?

___________________

5 star review!

This is the second time I’ve read this series and I still love it more than life itself. I decided to reread it because I wanted to review it on my new blog. It’s just another excuse to fall in love with Sway and Jameson all over again! :)

Sway Reins and Jameson Riley have been best friends since they were 11 years old. Sway has just graduated college and Jameson is in his Rookie year as a NASCAR driver. After Sway graduates, she joins him in Charlotte, North Carolina for one of his races. Little does she know that this is the weekend that will change her life forever.

“I think what stood out most to me in that moment, was here Jameson was, doing what he loved, doing what he was born to do and I loved that I was here sharing it with him. I felt as though I was a part of that.”

Jameson races for his fathers team Riley Simplex Racing in the NASCAR Winston Cup Championship. Sway’s dad owns Grays Harbour Raceway in Elma, Washington where she first met Jameson. Racing runs through their blood and I believe they’re a match made in Heaven.

“I fell hard into this crazy-irrational-break-your-fucking-heart-logic. Support group – here I come.”

There are many characters in this book that you will fall in love with. I get so emotional while reading this series and I try constantly not to laugh at the pranks that the characters pull on each other. You should try sitting in a silent area at Uni and reading this book; guaranteed you’ll embarrass yourself like I did when you read the fork incident. There is only so much silent giggling you can do! HAHA.

This novel is also very family orientated. I love how close the families all are even though they get on each others nerves.

“She was there when my career began and I had no doubt in my mind that Sway would be there when it ended.”

The safety of Sway and Jameson is jeopardised in this book, when fellow NASCAR driver Darrin Torres constantly seeks out Jameson on the race track as he is a threat. This then leads to revenge and a whole lot of hospital time.

I wrote down so many notes on this book but decided against writing them all down for you because you need to experience this story for yourself. Works cannot even describe how much I love these books and I hope that you read them and enjoy them too!

Available to purchase on Amazon.
My series reading order:
~ Happy Hour (Racing on the Edge #1)
~ Black Flag  (Racing on the Edge #2)
~ The Champion  (Racing on the Edge #4)
~ The Legend  (Racing on the Edge #5)
~ Trading Paint  (Racing on the Edge #3) – I read this last because it is a recount of Jameson and Sway’s relationship from childhood until Black Flag in the POV’s of those characters that weren’t shown in Happy Hour and Black Flag.

– Emily-Jane.

Leave a Reply

